Reviews

8.1
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
8.2
Comfort
8.1
Property location
7.6
Facilities
7.9
Staff
8.4
Value
8.2

Reviews

    hr

    Review score

    8.8
    23 May 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Susan
    gb

    Review score

    8.3
    21 May 2018

    Comfortable place to stay if you have a free bus pass.

    It is well out of town, although there is a bus stop nearby. It was tricky to get the shower temperature right, as the hot water takes some time to get to full temperature. It's not suitable for people with impaired mobility: reception is up a steep flight of steps.
    The room was large by the standards of Japanese budget hotels. The free wifi is insecure but provided a good connection: use a VPN if you have anything private to say. The bed was comfortable and there is AC (which I didn't use so can't comment on). The staff speak little English but are very friendly. The shower was a good size. Fridge and microwave provided in the lobby (not in the room).
    Chanika Lertchaiworagul
    th

    Review score

    7.5
    4 May 2018

    Nice and clean place to stay in Nikko

    Hard to find because there was no sign from the main road
    Very clean and comfortable room
    ALEXANDER
    gb

    Review score

    5.0
    24 December 2017

    Worth spending some time in Nikko, but the booking in experience was a bit traumatic.

    When I arrived at the agreed booking time nobody was in reception, despite an "open" sign on the door. After waiting 15 minutes or so in 0 temperature I almost went and booked another hotel, but phoned, received an answer and went back. The man in charge seems to have a nervous disorder and speaks hardly any English. I managed to communicate wth my meagre Japanese. I don't think Ikoi is really suitable for non-Japanese visitors.
    The room had most basic comforts, it was quiet, there was a fair amount of space.
    Maria
    nl

    Review score

    7.9
    26 November 2017
    Although a bit old, it was a surprisingly quiet and clean accomodation, close to a Tobu bus stop. The host was very kind and enthusiastic!
    NurFasha Adzreena
    my

    Review score

    10
    22 November 2017

    Satisfied

    It is not near the town but you can catch a bus from here. It's in a residence area and there's high school nearby. It is within the same route to Lake Chuzenji/Yumoto Onsen. You can also walk to the sightseeing area (which I did) and it takes about 10 minutes to reach the nearest one which is the Tamozawa Imperial Villa. From there you could also walk to the other sightseeing area since it is really nearby. You might want to eat first before you come back since there is nothing in here where you can buy food. The nearest convenience store is located near Tamozawa Imperial Villa. I like this place for its serenity.
    Siva Rao Narayanan
    sg

    Review score

    9.6
    16 November 2017
    Great location and owner is very friendly.
    Leah
    au

    Review score

    7.5
    9 November 2017

    We stayed for 4 nights at Ikoi, it felt like coming home after a big day of exploring Nikko

    The beds were pretty uncomfortable
    Even though there was a language barrier, the owners of the hotel were extremely friendly and helpful!
    Suporn
    th

    Review score

    5.0
    7 November 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    lt

    Review score

    7.9
    5 November 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Susan
    gb

    Review score

    10
    31 October 2017

    Great place and very peaceful.

    Nothing!
    A warm welcome, comfortable bed, hot water and very clean. I arrived early and was able to leave my bag in a secure locker. Although a little out of the centre you can get a bus right outside to the lake or the centre using the two day travel pass.
    oranuch
    th

    Review score

    9.6
    31 October 2017

    Good Jobs

    No
    Everything in the rooms
    vn

    Review score

    10
    30 October 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Tomer
    il

    Review score

    9.6
    27 October 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    JONATHAN TAYLOR
    gb

    Review score

    7.9
    17 October 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    th

    Review score

    10
    9 October 2017

    Great place... Would be here again for sure

    Nice owner,clean and calm place. Near by super-market and bus stop.
    Derek
    se

    Review score

    9.6
    7 August 2017
    Maybe not such a convenient location if you don't have a car. A couple of km from the temples and a further couple of km into central Nikko.
    The four-person room was spacious: two Western beds in one room, two futons in the tatami area. There was good, flexible lighting (actually a rarity, even in some more expensive ryokans, with their single fluorescent ceiling lamps!) We loved the "hygiene" area with toilet, bathroom and handbasin in three separate rooms. Nice Japanese-style (near-floor) shower and deep bath. Microwave and extra fridge in the hallway. All in all, excellent value! Near the beginning of an interesting and beautiful historic trail into Nikko.
    Thamalak
    th

    Review score

    8.8
    5 November 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Liora
    il

    Review score

    9.2
    20 October 2017

    A very nice place

    A bit small
    Very nice people. clean. pritty
    David
    jp

    Review score

    5.4
    30 August 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
Loading reviews